FACEBOOK MAKES ME FROWN BUT TWITTER MAKES ME TITTER..AND I’M DEFO A TIT MAN

As a technophobe, years ago it took a far bit of friend nagging for me to finally set up a Facebook account. I must admit, at the time this latest social media product seemed all rather exciting at first. It seemed fun to link up with people(mainly through school) that I’d not seen or spoke to in ages. I even enjoyed the pop-up instant messaging thing, it was new and different and fun. This enjoyment of Facebook was pretty short lived however as it soon started to get on my nerves and still does. First, it annoyed me that although old school mates had accepted my ‘FRIEND REQUEST’, they weren’t interested in having a conversation…….SO WHAT WAS THE POINT IN ACCEPTING MY FRIEND REQUEST OR SENDING ME A FRIEND REQUEST THEN? I had one cheeky fucker who will remain nameless, that ignored my first ‘friendly hello message’, but then went on to send me this impersonal message about how would I like to sponsor him in a FUN RUN? I was astounded by his cheek, so I kindly ignored him like he did with me(now I’ve unfriended him). It then became clear that I couldn’t remember the surnames of my recent University classmates and so was left talking………..or not as the case maybe, largely to ex schoolmates that I had not spoken too in over 10yrs and had now got very little in common with(no offence if some of you are reading this now haha). Oh and also the pop instant messaging thing went from being fun to being a nightmare. I’d go onto facebook and people I wanted to avoid talking too would pop up suddenly. I started going on it more discreetly then, like a celebrity who goes outside with their hood up and shades on cos they don’t want to be recognised ha ha.

My second big pet hate of Facebook compared to Twitter, is that it seems all lot more showy offy. By this I mean,  it’s like some people on there love showing off how great their life currently is. I swear there was this girl/woman on there who was an ex schoolmate of mine who was constantly posting photos of her now ‘wonderful life’, with her wonderful husband’. She’d post photos of their new car, their lavishing sitting room, and every other photo was of her and her hubby all loved up……….I duly unfriended her due to the nausea caused by looking at her photos doing my head in meeeeeeeeooooooowww ha ha ha. I know it sounds harsh and mean spirited but just being honest. Maybe it’s partly to do with my life being so shit at the moment but I don’t think it’s just that. Oh and then there is this girl on there who I fancied rotten years ago, who via Facebook I learned had got married and had a ruddy baby, gave me a right boost that one ha ha ha. Facebook can be too personal, and soooo as time has drifted on I’ve drawn back from Facebook a bit because I so much more enjoy using Twitter. I put funny updates on twitter and half of the time forget to post them on facebook too. Reason of this, is because twitter is more fun…….so now let me explain.

So, as a technophobe, how did I get into Twitter to the point where I’m almost now addicted to it? When I first opened an account I didn’t really get it or get bitten by the twitter bug. I didn’t know anybody on there and so wasn’t getting any tweets sent to me, so all in all I found it boring. Fast forward about 4-5 months and I decided to give it another go. Now don’t fall asleep when I tell you all this but after I finished Uni I became a member of the Labour Party. The election for a new Leader to replace Gordon Brown was in full swing and so I started following and chatting to other fellow Labour supporters on there. I wanted David Miliband to win and started talking to other people who wanted him to win too. I also had a massive passion for Mixed Martial Arts/UFC and in particular was and still am a big fan of the UK fighter from Clithroe(near me), called Michael ‘The Count’ Bisping. We’d spoken to each other a few times via his website and so we continued chatting on twitter and that together with me going to see him in a store signing once, means we’ve become good mates. I do have to question myself sometimes when I’m there taking the piss royalty out of this hard mixed fighter ha ha, but it’s a good fun and I love how we’ve become mates…..kind of ha ha. I even talk to his lovely wife and mother-in-law, the wonders of twitter hey ha ha. I follow and chat to fellow Manchester United fans, boxing fans, people suffering from the same health issues I am, the sense of community you get from twitter is a great feeling. I’ve even phoned up two people from twitter, one woman who was also having her gallbladder out soon like me. It was so nice for us to be there for one another.

With the Bisping thing, I love how twitter has brought me closer to people in the public eye. Granted not everybody replies to my tweets, but I’ve had conversations with sports journalists, political journalists and made a firm friend on there with an award winning current affairs journalist. I regularly direct message(twitter speak)  chat to this female journalist and at times it does seem a tad surreal, seeing as I see her on the telly lots. I care more about some people who I’ve never met on Twitter to many on Facebook that I have indeed met in my life at some point, as harsh as this sounds. It sounds madness, but you start caring and looking out for people on there. I also find Twitter an escapism from my shit life at the moment. Not all of the time, but most of it, I go into ‘funny Andy’ mode….I call it my DEL BOY side ha ha. This is the side to me that I like, the side that is always in full swing when I’m with my mates. I’m a full time mickey taker and have had some great giggles ans banter on there…..barring the odd lady I may offend with my near to the knuckle humour at times, but you can’t win them all.

The only downside to twitter, well there is two I have in mind, but the first one I want to mention is fake accounts. About twelve months ago me and numerous others got hoodwinked into believing two fake accounts. The first one was by a girl who claimed to be from Glossop, big Man United fan and a big time fashion model. She was a great girl and we regularly shared jokes and even started flirting a bit. I can still remember now her supposedly tweeting me from New York, working there on a fashion shoot she claimed. She had this friend who was said to be suffering from cancer. I took due pity on this girl because she sounded in a bad way.  In an attempt to emphasize with her I revealed to her tests I’d had for cancer a few years back, I even started emailing her. Fast forward a month or two and other people they spoke too on twitter, found out that both accounts were fake….no model ever existed, neither did this cancer sufferer. I think the latter one maybe did, but not in guise she professed to be. I was mortified and like many others felt like a right mug. I nearly came off twitter for good following this experience. How sad must peoples lives be if they have to make up such sick lies such as this….VERY IS THE ANSWER. They say you live and learn however and slowly I started using twitter again, relaxing and forgetting all about these two nutters. That experience just taught me a valuable lesson in not being as trusting of people on social media as I had been up to that point. Many months have passed since and I like to think I’m a lot better now at spotting fake accounts, just call me DETECTIVE SCARFY ha ha(I’m SCARFMAN_ on twitter).

The only other downside to twitter is the abuse some people seem fit dish out. It’s like they go on the internet and in this case twitter, and leave their entire moral compass at the door. I dislike Piers Morgan but would never tweet to him extreme abuse, calling him a Jeremy Hunt like many do….rhyming slang ha. Idiots think it’s OK to send people abuse on there and there won’t be any comeback. I know this is changing bit now due to a few celebs prosecuting people who have sent them nasty vile tweets, but still people take too many liberties on there in my opinion. A scouse boxer retweeted a tweet I sent him, where I said the Luis Suarez bite on a Chelsea player was worse than the Eric Cantona spectator kung-fu kick. I duly then got sent about forty or fifty tweets sent to me by Liverpool FC fans, where due to my pink scarf(in my photo) I was subjected to homophobic abuse. I blocked them all and in fairness not had anything like that happen to me on there in over 12mths. Also the reporting abuse on there has got more enhanced, so it shows twitter is getting more serious about this. Comparing this to facebook, I have not got a clue where or how you complain about folk on there.

The pluses far outweight the minuses on Twitter though in my opinion. When I get up and turn my computer on, I first look at the latest football transfer gossip, then my emails and then TWITTER. I’ve become that addicted to it that I now hate it if ever the system is diown and I can’t go on it. I’ve become TWITTERIZED(my new word just made up ha ha), like when people who spend too long in prison become institutionalized ha ha. Now I accept my addiction partly comes via having far too much time on my hands through not working at the moment due to ill health, but I can still see me going on it lots when I finally do get my life back on track. As I said at the beginning, Facebook just bores the living daylights out of me, and I only stay on there now, due to a few dear close friends on there not being on Twitter yet. I don’t like to frown and much prefer to titter, so it’s Twitter over Facebook all day long for this @Scarfman_

About ANDREW LLOYD

Hey! So I'm an opinionated Scarf wearing obsessive hahaha who regularly has a story or two to tell! I'm a diabetic and through the years have had numerous hurdles to overcome in my life...cos I'm a fighter! Massive sports fan,namely cricket,UFC/MMA,football and rugby. Massive Manchester United fan and did at Media & Cultural Studies Degree at University! Hope my blogs make you giggle at times and also move you to tears!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

